Blueberries

August 8, 2011


“Blueberries I” ©Jill Rosoff 2011, 5 1/2″ x 8 1/2″,  SOLD

It’s always a great moment when I find something new I want to paint.  A few months ago it was a nasturtium that one of my workshop students brought in to paint.  See the April 21st posting.  This new subject matter, blueberries, started manifesting itself earlier this year.

There was actually a trio of attention-grabbers that all occurred in April.  First, I began noticing photos of blueberries in magazines and online.  You know when you buy a new car and you begin to see scads of them on the road?  Like that.  hmmm.  It must be blueberry season!

Next, there was a posting on Facebook that April 28th was National Blueberry Pie Day.  Whoever got that holiday up and running was genius.  Of all the lovely things to celebrate.  Pres. Reagan had the third Sunday in July declared National Ice Cream Day — did you all celebrate that??  My grandmother loved to cook for her family, and though her enthusiasm wasn’t always matched with success, she did make great pies.  Just three flavors, though, and one of them was her ‘Blubry’ pie.

The third thing that happened was a call from someone to collaborate on a project, and one of the subjects they were interested was blueberries.

Common wisdom says that things come in threes.  Best not to ignore it.  And I didn’t, though this painting took its sweet time coming to fruition.  Four months down the road, here it is. 

4 Responses to “Blueberries”


  1. Jill, those are gorgeous, ripe & look positively good enough to eat! You’ve done it again. xo, mel


  2. Thanks, Jill, for sticking with this project. Your work is inspiring. I received my first painting from my 3-year-old granddaughter, Paige, last month and I’m sending the link to your blog to her mom, hoping that she will show your work to Paige who will then go to the garden to find colors and forms that encourage future paintings. Heck, you’ve got me thinking I need to dust off my art supplies to begin a small journal to eventually give to Paige.

    Again, thanks for the inspiration,

    John Costello

    • jillpaints Says:

      Thank you for your incredibly kind words, John. And I absolutely love the idea of making a journal for your granddaughter. That’s inspiring! Thank you very much.
      Jill


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 92 other followers

