Tiptoe through. . .

August 15, 2008

“Graphic Tulips”, ©Jill Rosoff 2007, watercolor on paper, 5 1/2″ x 8 1/2″, SOLD

I started painting tulips when I first started painting watercolors and they are a theme I go back to every now and then, as a sort of a touchstone.  I started painting them after going on a 2-month college tour of Europe, visiting almost every Western European country.  It also included Yugoslavia and Czeckoslovakia, so it was before the Iron Curtain came down.   I saw the Berlin Wall, and went through Checkpoint Charlie to East Berlin.  Spooky!  A good story, another time.

Our last stop on the continent was Holland, where I bought a packet of tulip bulbs in mixed colors.  They were shipped to me in Berkeley later on that fall, around planting time.  So, city girl that I am, I prepared the ground and planted the bulbs.  And waited and waited.  At last in March they bloomed, gloriously, so of course I did a painting of them.  Well, I did a few of them.  I recently unearthed that first painting and put it up in the studio for awhile.

So doing this piece was a revisiting of an old friend.  I was trying out a different “take” on these lovely blossoms, a more graphic rather than realistic visual.  I wish bulbs were easier to grow in So. Cal!

Use the pop up windows to view the paintings in a larger format–the colors are truer there!

Please use the “Comment” button to contact me regarding purchases.  MC/Visa and Paypal accepted.  Thanks!  Enjoy!

