Clivia

September 3, 2008

"Clivia", ©Jill Rosoff 2007, 5 1/2" x 8 1/2", $75.00

“Clivia”, ©Jill Rosoff 2007, 5 1/2″ x 8 1/2″, framed, SOLD

These flowers are the richest orange color, with delicate paler orange in the inner part of the petal.  I just learned they’re also called Kaffir Lilies (what would we do without search engines?)  They grow a little like orchids, but they are from the amaryllis family.  I have 3 of these plants in my front garden thanks to Mom, who harvested the baby shoots off of hers and gave them to me. And while they usually bloom in the spring, its September, and mine are blooming now. Go figure.

4 Responses to “Clivia”

  1. jillpaints Says:

    Laura,

    Thank you for visiting, and coming via Katydiddy!

  2. Laura Says:

    These are truly lovely. You manage to capture a lot in 12″. Came here by way of Katydiddy, she only sends me to the best places!

  3. jillpaints Says:

    Stacy!

    Thanks for pointing that out all of the paintings on this blog are original pieces. All the work featured on this blog are original paintings. I do have prints available of some of my larger work, which can be seen on my website, http://www.RosoffArtworks.com.

    Cheers!
    Jill


  4. Jill,
    I don’t know if folks “out there” know these are all original pieces and not prints. How great is that?

    Stacy
    (your blog-buddie)


Comments are closed.

