Tomatillos

November 5, 2008

tomatillos-on-stripes

“Tomatillos on Stripes” ©Jill Rosoff 2008, 5 1/2″ x 8 1/2″, framed, $155.00

 

I first saw tomatillos in a market, little green tomatoes in their pale, papery jackets. I bought them so I could make my own fresh green enchilada sauce, but they never quite made it to the kitchen.  They sat on my painting table on a blue plate, the green jackets slowly turning brown as they dried out.  They are at the same time full-bodied juicy tomatoes under their skin that looks so delicate.  The jacket is in sections, with veins running through them like leaves, joined at the stem, peeling apart at the bottom ends.  This painting concentrates on those jackets, sitting on a striped towel on my kitchen counter.  I do a couple of paintings each year of them now–there’s another one on my website (click on the Orange Tulips image to the right, and when the website opens up, go to Still Lifes).  And the enchiladas?  I ended up using sauce from a can.  What I do (or don’t) for art!

I’m off to show at “Art Under the Umbrellas” in La Quinta this Saturday!  If you’re in the area, come on by!  www.LQAF.com for more information.

