Java jive

December 10, 2008

the-green-demi-tasse

“The Green Demitasses” ©Jill Rosoff 2008, 5 1/2″ x 8 1/2″  SOLD

The marvelous cup of coffee.  My relationship with coffee started in college.  At first it was dining commons dreck that I doctored up to help keep me awake to study.  Then I discovered the latte.  Heavy sigh.  My friend Mary and I would take a break from our painting studio and go to Cafe Roma near the art studios on campus at Berkeley, and treat each other to a latte or mocha, and there was no turning back.  Then there was Peet’s Coffee and Tea, just a handful of stores in Berkeley, where I learned what good coffee really tasted like, and I started to buy my own beans and grind my coffee at home, first in a drip coffee maker.  Later I got myself a little espresso maker, just a stainless stovetop model. The home-sized machines weren’t around much then, this was the only way to make espresso at home.  And that’s still my morning coffee in one of my lovely Italian mugs to start the day.  Happiness.  

The idea for this series of paintings has been brewing for awhile.  Then recently my mom showed me a drawing of 2 coffee cups I’d done for her almost 20 years ago. So this is, I think, a supposed-to-be series.  

Now for the icing on the coffee cake.  I have the first paintings of this series on display at Peet’s Coffee and Tea in Corona del Mar for the month of December.  The paintings went up December 7th, they’ll be there until January 4th.  There’s a reception Saturday, December 13th from 2 to 5 pm.  Come on over and view a cup!

