Cacophony of color

January 26, 2009

spring-garden08-adj3

“Spring Garden” ©Jill Rosoff 2008, all rights reserved.  5 1/2″ x 8 1/2″, framed, $195.00

Its such a fun word, cacophony.   Happier than ‘riot’.  The colors are a big reason I can’t resist Iceland Poppies.  And they’re planted in the planters now, its the time of year for these lovely bright, fluttering spots of color in gardens all over the place.  When I drive by one of these little bursts of happiness, all I want to do is paint them.  Tough to do while driving. 

I finished this painting in November (out of season, but I couldn’t hold back when the urge took hold) using source photographs I’ve been taking of Icelands for years.  I can’t get over the shapes of the flowers, the petals, how they cling to the stem.  They are delicate and crinkly, and the colors are bright and rich and clear, especially when they are backlit by the sun.  Happy sigh.

