Midstream on many pieces

August 8, 2009

plumeria buds4blog

Plumeria buds on my deck

I got a brilliant idea over the winter and put one of my plumeria plants on my deck outside the sliding glass door from my dining room.  My living/dining/kitchen is on the 2nd of my 3 storeys, and my plumerias are all on the back patio.   So this year I have been able to watch one of the plants bloom.  It’s been a lovely and happy process, filled with anticipation, especially once the buds showed.  See above.  Painting coming soon!

I have four paintings going right now on my painting table, three  small works in my coffee cups series, and one (so far) of the plumeria, which also has the very lyrical name of frangipani.  It suits my multi-tasking head to do this, to have so many pieces going at one time, but it lets me work continually.  While a layer of color dries on one piece, I work on the next.

And  I’m about to start a larger one of blue hydrangea, recalling my post in June about blue flowers, which I am constantly drawn to.  I love that up close all the petals can be different colors, from pale green to lavender to periwinkle to purple, and when you back up and look at the plant as a whole, its blue.   I have a couple of my hydrangea paintings on my website –click on the orange tulips over there on the right–in the Blossoms and Gardens section.  The hydrangeas are another boon from Trader Joe’s, my treasure trove of goodies and flowers.  And it’s getting to sunflower season!


