More Gerberas

September 3, 2009

gerbers clip

“Gerberas in Green Bottle” ©Jill Rosoff 2009, sample clip of painting in progress

I first saw gerberas when I was working in a law firm (really!) in San Francisco oh so many years ago.  One day the sole female partner brought a bunch of them in to put in her office.  It was a ‘wow’ moment for me, watching her walk by with the bouquet.  I honestly didn’t believe they were real flowers.  I was enthralled with the oh-so-long stems, the vivid colors, and all of those long daisy petals.  And the backs of the petals were a whole different color, but really, simply a paler tone of the frontside color.  They were like bright fireworks frozen on to the end of an impossibly long stem.

What I’m showing here is just one section of a new painting in progress, a tall, narrow piece.  The full painting is 6″ wide by 24″ long.  I wanted to show just this bit of it here, zeroing on the petals.  The finished painting shows the full-length flowers and stems in a green glass bottle.  It will be available through my website (click on the orange tulips over there on the right) once it’s completed.

A side note, from the ‘who knew’ file: the stats for this blog show that ‘gerber daisies’ is one of the top searches and most often viewed posts on my page.  so thanks to all who look for and find the paintings!!

.

One Response to “More Gerberas”

  1. Lynn Says:

    They are like static fireworks. Nature captured the best part (and made it less toxic!) Can hardly wait to see the whole piece!


Comments are closed.

