Another Little Bit of Paradise

December 4, 2009

“Plantation Cottage” ©Jill Rosoff 2007, 5 1/2″ x 8 1/2″, $75.00

While I was in Hawaii last month with friends we went to visit friends of theirs on the windward side of Oahu near Kailua.  We drove over the old Pali Highway, stopping briefly at the Pali lookout to look at the Pali’s steep cliffs and see how lush green the rainy side of the island is, so remarkably different from the dry side and in such close proximity.

After meeting for lunch at Buzz’s Steakhouse, we all went back to their lovely little bungalow, a sweet illustration of local island Plantation architecture, simple and straight-forward in the Hawaiian/Victorian way.  The interior  had lauhala matts on the vertical grain fir floors, and the windows and doors are screened so the trades breeze through keeping the interior tropically cool.  She was born and raised in Hawaii so knows the old Hawaiian ways, the ones my mother taught me and my sibs when we were growing up, and which are still a part of the way I experience Hawaii when I’m there.  So it was nice to see this traditional home, and to learn that this cottage has been in their family for generations.there’s a kind of permanence out there.

Standing in the front yard with the southern side of the Pali mountains in the background, it was too good a sight to pass up.  And even though I’d gone without my camera or drawing pad (egad!) I took some shots with my cell phone’s camera, which were the source photos for this piece.

