A little bit bigger piece this time

January 27, 2010

Red Poppy 2, ©Jill Rosoff 2010, 11 3/4″ x 6″, SOLD

I’ve missed blogging for awhile, I’ve been preparing entries for two juried shows.  So I thought this time I’d post one of the pieces I just completed for these entries.  This piece is a little larger than I typically post here, but what the heck, it’s been awhile.  Click on the image to see it larger, the details in this piece will show better.

I’m doing more and more of these patterned pieces lately.  They take a little more time to complete, what with all the textures and layers of color. I started doing these pieces with the very busy texture work in the early 90’s, they came about as I studied iceland poppy beds and noticed all of the textures, in the grain of the soil, in the clumps of leaves of each little plant, and what they look like compared to each other.

5 Responses to “A little bit bigger piece this time”


  1. That’s just stunning, Jillsie! The color transitions are so gorgeous and the detail is amazing! WOW!

  2. Judy Rose Says:

    Hi Jill,
    Glad you directed me over here from FB. This piece is lovely. And I also got to see the Dec. 31 post, which I’d missed. Beautiful as well.
    Judy

  3. Jamie Fingal Says:

    What a beautiful piece. I feel like I could just reach in and touch those flowers.


Comments are closed.

