A new painting posted, at last!

August 23, 2010


Painting of European poppies, in progress, ©Jill Rosoff 2010

I’ve been on a bit of a painting hiatus, concentrating on the new set of notecards (see July 28th).  As a result, I have some paintings that are ‘under construction’ so that’s where I’m taking this for now.

This one of poppies, obviously a ‘true north’ subject matter for me.  This one is a little bit of a departure from my usual suspects .  I’ve concentrated mostly on the Iceland variety of poppies, the ones that show up in the spring here in So Cal, and are particularly ubiquitous at business parks in their street-side planting areas that surround the concrete signage.  People only see them when they drive into the parking lot, and as again as they drive out.  Its always seemed a little too spare a sighting for flowers so rapturously alive.  They are red, oranges, yellow, white, pink, and magenta, and all have yellow centers.

This piece has poppies that are from a little more easterly direction, the fields of coquelicot of France, the papaveri of Italy.  Take a moment, do you remember what they look like?  They are all orange/red, with black centers.  I’m operating from memory here, and photos I took too long ago.

And this painting is only part of the way done, and its the first time I’ve shown an ‘in process’ piece on this blog so far.  You can see I’ve sketched in other poppies, and have finished the center on only the first blossom.  I think there’ll be more poppies in it ultimately.   It’ll be back when its complete!

