Mexican tulip poppies

September 23, 2010

“Mexican tulip poppies” ©Jill Rosoff 2010, 6″ x 12″, $95.00

I was invited by one of my watercolor student’s over to her home to see these flowers growing in her garden, so of course I was intrigued.  I popped over the other day, since she lives just a few blocks from me.  These plants are definately in the poppy family, the petals are very similar to Icelands, but there are eight petals, instead of just four, and the blossoms are a little smaller.  The leaves and seed pods are like elongated versions of those on the California poppy.

I find yellow challenging to paint with, especially when its the first color element on the paper.   Yellow is a light, light color, it contrasts very little to the white of the paper.  It strains the old eyeballs.  So my challenge is twofold, to find enough contrasting elements in the subject to be able to show the texture of the blossoms petals, and to set it off with a background that activates the dominant yellow color.  I like the coral on this one.  I hope the seeds propagate!  Thanks, Lea!

4 Responses to “Mexican tulip poppies”

  1. Sooz Says:

    You popped over to see the poppies?? They’re really cool!!! I’m glad you did!!!

  2. Lea Lowe Says:

    The yellow flowers are so vivid in my yard and Jill captured the look of the blossums including the waviness of the petals.

  3. Angela Snider Says:

    “Mexican tulip poppies” ~ I love this piece… the coral back ground really did the yellow justice!
    Just beautiful!


Comments are closed.

