Is it ever too soon for tulips?

December 1, 2010

“Seven Pale Pink Tulips” ©Jill Rosoff 2010, 17 1/2″ x 6″  $145.00

It’s bulb-planting season, and its certainly been cold enough lately here, almost as cold as it’s supposed to be according to the Dutch.  I planted bulbs years ago when I lived in Berkeley, and I’m glad that I tried it, went through the whole process, and thoroughly enjoyed keeping vigil until  the plants popped out of the ground, and then watching as they bloomed  into those long, lovely, statuesque flowers.  I marvel at those who plant and nurture their bulbs every year in SoCal.

I did a painting similar to this one earlier this year, but the one just wasn’t enough.  I felt the need to explore more the shapes of the flowers and the leaves, the colors, and how those elements work in the long, narrow format of the paper.

2 Responses to “Is it ever too soon for tulips?”

  1. Sooz Says:

    gor geee ous!!!!!!


Comments are closed.

