Nasturtium, for Earth Day

April 21, 2011

“Nasturtium and single leaf”  ©Jill Rosoff 2011, 7″ x 10″  $65.00

I love nasturtiums.  Is it nasturtia?  Their colors are wonderfully vivid, their design is curious.  And they smell really pungeantly earthy.  A perfect ode to Earth Day.

My mother grew them along with white daisies.  They made a lovely little bouquet in a glass vase, the white daisies contrasted to the intensely colored orange, red and yellow nasturtiums.  They’re also lovely in salads, I discovered a few years ago having lunch at a winery near San Jose, CA that is sadly no longer around.  But oh was that salad a revelation.

This painting’s germination came last monthwhen one of the people in my workshops brought in this lone flower along with its companion leaf.  I used it for a model while I demonstrated blocking in colors and shapes.  Later on I took the little demo back to my painting table and fleshed it out.  And voila.  

Have a good Earth Day!

2 Responses to “Nasturtium, for Earth Day”

  1. jillpaints Says:

    I’m so glad you like it, Laara! Thank you, and have a good Easter!


  2. I really love the Nasturium! It is really an excellent painting! I wish you a Happy Easter! LOL = Lots of Love NOT Laughing out Loud as I was recently informed! Just want to be sure you receive my Love and good wishes!


Comments are closed.

