Freesias and waves

April 28, 2011

“Lavender Freesias on wave pattern” ©Jill Rosoff 2011, 6″ x 11 3/4″, framed  $185.00

Freesia season seems to have come and gone quickly this year.  Or I’ve been so preoccupied with my website revision that I’ve missed it.  I got this one in, though!  The structure is so fun to dissect, and arrange on the paper.  

The wave pattern in the background was spurred by  I can’t believe I’m admitting this, a segment on The View.  Last month Ms. Walters et al had Glenn Lowry, the Director of MoMA on as a guest.  I was gobsmacked:  a segment about Art, specifically paintings, on a television talk show?  And that wasn’t about the heist of a treasured, irreplaceable painting, or a record-settoing price at an auction. Nice!  The discussion was about how to appreciate art.  And one of the pieces they projected was a Josef Albers painting that looks all white.  Then they zoomed in on it and up close its a series of narrow, horizontal oblongs in pale, pale tints of the spectrum of colors.  They are so pale, that when you back away from the canvas, your eye blends them, and it looks plain white.  It was looking at those pale strips of color that jolted me.  In a good way (read wow! not cattle prod).  It underlined for me the richness of colors, and how they relate or change as they are combined and juxtaposed.  

Now, obviously this painting isn’t a study of white, its about perception.  On this piece, look closely at the waves, they are more than just a spectrum of the coral color.  I had a little fun with them.   You can double click on the image, and it’ll open in a larger version.  Can you see it?


2 Responses to “Freesias and waves”


  1. Hi! I see a woman’s face in the lower right hand corner and up above lots of eyes. (and I am completely sober and mostly sane!) It is a beautiful painting! LOL


Comments are closed.

