Tulip with texture

May 19, 2011

“Orange Tulip on texture” ©Jill Rosoff 2o11, 8 1/2″ x 5 1/2″  framed, $125.00

In the last gasps of tulip season I expanded on the series of postcard-sized tulip ‘portraits’ I did earlier this year, and put them on pieces of paper that are a little larger than the postcards.  Although these are still relatively small works, somehow the flower has become more monumental.  Georgia O’Keefe did a few works like this, monumental-looking poppies, that when I first saw them, in books or on postcards, I thought they were immense, wall-filling canvasses.  When I saw them in person at last, I was amazed to find the were really fairly small, intimate works.  What a feat of design and execution.

This one is more obviously a contrast between flat areas of color, and a very textured background.  And still as I look at it, that tulip is enormous on the paper.  Fun!

One Response to “Tulip with texture”

  1. Mel Says:

    Jill, I’m loving the backgrounds you’ ve been doing. They really read like fabric. Something to consider? You make it so fun that I’m going to have to sign up for your classes!


Comments are closed.

