Paint, Counterpaint

June 29, 2011

Two Textured Tulips”,©Jill Rosoff 2011, 8 1/2″ x 5 1/2″,  $95.00

Thanks to everyone who responded to my last blog posting.  The majority of the feedback to my question about the Poppy Pods was in favor of leaving the painting as is.  As you wish!  (to quote Wesley in The Princess Bride).  And thank you for all your great comments!  Read them by clicking on Comments under the posting.  

This week’s piece, it turns out, is the diametric opposite, it’s almost all about the patterning.  I’ve had this painting on my drawing board since about March, around the time I was doing the small postcard ‘portraits’ of tulips.  I had a couple of pieces of watercolor paper a little larger than the postcard-szed ones lying on the table, aching to be painted on.  So I did the coral tulips, and used the patterning to echo the delicate structure of the tulips petals.  And then it sat there while I paid attention to other paintings, and put on a show, and went on my oh-so-great trip to Europe last month.  And so I finished it this week, still using the line detail, but not quite the same way as on the tulip petals.  And here it is.

I’m starting some pieces from my trip, they’ll be arriving here soon.  Mostly in the architectural vein–I love the architecture of the Spanish, French and Italian Riviera.  Plus there’s a few that I started before the trip that are almost finished, that are quite fun.

Have a great Fourth of July!  And a safe one!

2 Responses to “Paint, Counterpaint”

  1. Isabelle Demonty Says:

    Hi Jill,
    This is absolutely gorgeous. I love this wave pattern, and here it is both on the tulip and the background!
    I would have told you to add the wave pattern to the poppy pods )(previous post, but it is also very nice as is; I could not have told that such a subtile color in the background of the pods was obtained with so many layers of different colors, thanks for having explained the process, that is interesting.
    I am very much looking forward to seeing your mediterranean architectural pieces; the couple of reproductions of your Firenze pieces that come from my grandma’s-offered 1990 Landmark calendar enchanted me. I am sure the future ones will as well.
    Isabelle

    • jillpaints Says:

      Thank you Isabelle! I just love that you’ve been following my work for so long! It’s really something very special. Thank you! And by the way, I am planning to self-publish a calendar for 2012! Look for information in the fall!
      Cheers! Jill


Comments are closed.

