Tuscany on my mind

January 29, 2012

“Tuscan Hillside” ©Jill Rosoff 2012, 9″ x 12″

This  painting is done in the same vein as some watercolor monoprints I did in the late ’80’s and early ’90’s.  I fell for the Tuscan countryside when I was first saw in it ’78, and when I get to go back, most recently last May, I get that same sort of ‘love-at-first-sight’ thrill of seeing that countryside that simply resonates in my soul.  

I  use color and pattern layered on to the composition, always aiming to infuse more color to an image.  I always want more color!  This piece turns out is about color and texture helping defining an almost surreal composition.  Except for the pencil cypress and one small structure that lyrically punctuate the landscape, this could almost be a patchwork quilt.

2 Responses to “Tuscany on my mind”


  1. This is stunning, Jill, and the colors are representative of Tuscany but have your unique stamp.


Comments are closed.

