New production is blooming

February 23, 2012


Scarves in process, February  ©Jill Rosoff 2012

I’ve been doing a lot of marketing work lately, one result of which is that I haven’t been painting much lately.  And I miss it!  But I’ve had a lot to do both in the marketing and in my art projects.

One project is my hand-painted silk scarves.  I paint them with permanent dye, right on to the silk fabric.  I’ve been in production, developing the designs, and getting ready to show them at a few shows in the upcoming months.  My next show is the Festival of the Whales in Dana Point, CA, at the Art in the Park section of the Festival.  For the first 2 weekends of March each year, Dana Point celebrates the return of the once-endangered California Gray Whale with “a leviathan-size event”.  I spent my teen years near here, I learned to sail sabots in Dana Point Harbor, so it’s a bit of home turf for me.

Back to the scarves.  The photo above is from my production day yesterday.  The scarves are pinned onto canvas on the painting table, where I then paint them with the dyes.  You can see the vestiges of previous dyeing under the scarves.  These are just 2 of the new crop of poppy scarves, all of which signed and numbered, and which I will be showing at the Festival of the Whales.  Come see what they look like on!  My booth will be at Art in the Park at the Festival, located at the intersection of Dana Point Harbor Drive and Island Drive.  It’s at stop E12 on the shuttle route, which you will find on this map.  Look for my apple-green market umbrellas.

If you aren’t anywhere near Dana Point and are unable come to the Festival, the scarves are currently available in my Etsy store, where I’ll be posting the new ones as soon as they’re completed and photographed.  And for those in and around north Orange County, they are now also at the Muckenthaler Cultural Center‘s gift shop, in Fullerton, CA.

2 Responses to “New production is blooming”


  1. Jill, I wish you the best! I think part of the “artist process” is learning patience while developing the “final product”. I go through the same process as a musician – after composing, comes the process of recording and realization of the creation – sometimes a frustrating technical process but it contains the seeds of sharing the work. It is all a process, I suppose 🙂 Congratulations and best wishes for a successful end product!


    • Lynn,
      Thank you for your kind and supportive thoughts. I really do enjoy the development process of creating a new piece, the “where are we going with this” part of it is the exciting part. Having others appreciate it is the icing. I appreciate it!


Comments are closed.

