Blooming on silk

March 2, 2012

Pink poppies on habotai, Flower Fields on crepe de chine, Yellow Poppies on chiffon, Large Orange poppies on habotai, and Blue Poppies on crepe square.

Here’s a selection of the new scarves I’ve been making.  The theme is poppies, and I’m playing around with the sizes of the blossom and also the colors.  I also have them in red, tangerine, lavender, purple, and combinations of red and orange, yellow and orange, and red and pink.  So far, that is.  I’m painting these on three different silk fabrics:  habotai, crepe de chine, and chiffon.  The oblong scarves come in three sizes, and I have 44″ square scarves too.  The procion dyes are set so that they bond with the silk fibers, so the color is permanent.  If you see a color you like but want a different size or material than what is currently available, contact me to order the scarf you want.

I’ll be showing them this weekend and next at the Art in the Park section of the 41st annual Festival of the Whales, in Dana Point, California.  Dates are March 3, 4, 10 and 11, from 9:30 am to 5 pm.   Art in the Park will be on the grass areas at the corner of Dana Point Harbor Drive and Island Drive.  A shuttle bus that will be running, and Art in the Park is at stop #E12 on the attached map.  I’ll have my notecards, reproductions and small, matted watercolors with me too!  We’ll be having a whale of a time!

Can’t make it this weekend or next?  You can order the scarves through my shop on Etsy:  Rosoff Artworks.  And of course if you have questions, use the comment button below (all inquiries remain private), or convo me from my Etsy shop.  

