Back at it!

July 11, 2012

“Four Green Apples” ©Jill Rosoff 2012, 8 1/2″ x 5 1/2″

Things have been busy lately, at the expense my blog, although I’m not ignoring it on purpose!  I had a couple of big weekend shows, one was not so great, one was terrific – I love doing the Balboa Island Art Walk!  Those were followed up with post-show follow-up work.  Then I caught a bug that took two antibiotics and a couple of weeks to chase away.  Then I went on vacation –  to Hawaii for almost 2 weeks, primarily at a workshop learning to play slack key guitar, with a little bit of sunning, swimming and snorkeling.  And last week was the Fourth of  July.  Its taken me a little longer than expected to get back to business as usual!

So here I am, back at it.  This little watercolor was inspired by the shows I did–I have a pair of market umbrellas that are apple green that I use to shade my display, and I have green apples on my table for people to take, to carry out the theme.  I had a few apples left over after the Balboa show, so I took them to my watercolor workshop the next week  for my students to use as subjects for their paintings.  This piece started as my demonstration, about using a flat wash to make the apple shapes and the shadows.  For the shadowing on the apples I used magenta in both glazing and dropping in of the color to a water wash.  The yellow striped table cloth was a great juxtaposition of color to set off the green and magenta.  The stems are alizarine crimson, which becomes brownish when layered on the green of the apples.  Its available through my Etsy shop now!

2 Responses to “Back at it!”


  1. Loving the stripped background.


  2. Wonderful painting – your use of color is always delightful!


Comments are closed.

