Yellow is the color of…

August 5, 2012

“Still Life in Yellows” ©Jill Rosoff 2012  5 1/2″ x 8 1/2″

Today I set aside just to make art.  And I cooked a little too, which sort of counts, cooking is also about making something.  But primarily I worked on art, with “soundtrack” of the Olympics playing in the background.  No business, no marketing, just all drawing and painting.  

One of the things I did today is that I finished this small painting.  I started it in June as a demonstration in one of my workshops, I wanted to play with the idea of all the objects in the painting being variations of a single color, like a one note melody:  sing “Long Tall Sally” to yourself, see what I mean?   On this one day we had all these yellow objects that people had brought in to the workshop  to use as subjects for their paintings.  The idea literally presented itself, right there in front of me, to make a composition of the different colors of yellow.  So I blocked in the pepper, the lemons and the bananas.  Then I rendered them using glazes and dropping-in color, which is also referred to as ‘charging’ (ok, a vision of the battles in the movie ‘Braveheart’ just came to mind as I wrote that–this is the way my brain works).

I decided to complete it using versions of primary colors–there were the three yellows: rich warm, bright and cool, and a little lighter and muted, plus a warm violet as the blue for all the shadows and the background, and a diluted Winsor Red became a warm pink, which also turned orangy glazed over the yellow.  Oh and a bit of green for the pepper’s stem, and on the bananas.  The fun result is that even with those few colors, it’s a pretty rich palette.  

Its available for purchase on my Etsy shop.  

6 Responses to “Yellow is the color of…”


  1. The lavender and yellow combo is so delightful, but the stripped tablecloth really completes this pic.

  2. Barbara Says:

    The colors are so fresh and beautiful. And after a couple of failed attempts, I got a subscription to your blog. 🙂


    • Hello Barbara!
      Thank you for your comment, its especially nice coming from another watercolorist. I am enjoying your work too–I grew up in Pasadena so its fun to see your images. I’m so glad that subscribing to my blog worked!


  3. I love the colors and your way of drawing flowers ! It’s joyful !!!


Comments are closed.

