Support Your Favorite Artist! (they’ll love you for it)

October 22, 2015

It can be trying to be both the maker of product, and the marketer of that product.  It’s two completely different thought processes, two very different endeavors.

This week I’ve felt very gratified for the support of my online ‘peeps’, friends, Facebook friends, people who get my periodic email communications, everyone.  I submitted on of my scarves, “Olive Branches” for a contest on Artizan Made, a wonderful website that promotes hand-made products in home decor and eco-fashion.

Olive Branches

The winner will get a year of free advertising on the Artizan Made website.  Its a short contest, just a week long, and I sent in my entry.  I got notified that my scarf was accepted into the contest in the evening, just 2 days before the end of the contest.  Then I posted about it on Facebook, and asked friends to both vote and share my post.  I posted on Twitter, too.  and sent an email out to everyone on my email list.  And then I went to bed.

The next morning, I’d come even with the current leader.  More votes dribbled in, and then I sent an email out to everyone on my email list.  My numbers went way up.  It was a blast watching the numbers rise.  But more than that was enjoying all the responses, so many just saying “Done!” that was so lovely.  And heartwarming.  And felt so supportive.  So even if I don’t win this thing, I’ve gotten so much visibility from it, it’s fantastic.  And maybe a couple of early holiday sales.  

One Response to “Support Your Favorite Artist! (they’ll love you for it)”

  1. Susan Says:

    How great! Fingers crossed that you win… Your work is beautiful!


Comments are closed.

