The Flower Fields in Carlsbad

April 28, 2016

ranuncula rows2sm

Ranunculus, from the rows of purples and reds up to the white ones.

Yesterday I drove to Carlsbad (CA) to meet up with an artist friend to see and paint the flower fields. Carlsbad is in northern San Diego county, and has been know for the vivid colors that bloom each spring of the flowers that are grown there.  When I was a teen, my family would drive to Tijuana for the day to go shopping.  As we got to Carlsbad, the 5 split through the fields, and intense colors covered the land on both sides of freeway.  Back then you could get off the freeway and simply go walking in the fields, to get up close and personal with the growing blooms. We never stopped though, as were on our way to a different adventure.   But I had dreams of going there to sit in the fields and paint the flowers.

orange ranunculasSm

Thank goodness for zoom-in feature on my cell phone!

A few weeks ago I shared a photo I found of the fields on Facebook that I’d seen.  Laura, my fellow artist friend, emailed me with the idea to go paint and sketch and paint in the fields. At last, a dream would be realized. Yesterday was the day, and though the flower fields are down to a few acres these days, and only ranunculus are planted (thought I love ranunculus), and you have to pay to get in to see them, we both packed up our art supplies and hats in bags and went, ready to plop ourselves down in the furrows between the rows of flowers and make art.

Or so we thought. They don’t let anyone walk through the rows of flowers anymore (frowny face)!  There’s a big irrigation ditch surrounding each field, that’s a few feet wide and a couple feet deep. Sigh! So we couldn’t plop ourselves down in the furrows and paint.  That said, every dozen rows or so they had little portable foot-bridges placed over the ditch, and about 20’ of ‘path’ cordoned off into the field.  

 

pink ranunculusSm

The pink ranunculus rows

But there wasn’t much room to plop down in.  I’d been so looking forward to literally getting down and dirty in the flower plants and painting or drawing. But it was not to be. We sat on a bench for awhile and chatted about the business of art, swapping stories of things we are each doing, gazing at the flowers. And I got a little bit of sunburn where I’d missed getting sunscreen on as I was driving down. But I did get a few photos lovely photos.

I’m starting to work on some watercolor sketches.  And to see how I can turn them in to new scarf designs.  

#flowerfields #ranunculus #freshoffthedrawingboard #rosoffartworks

 

