Succulents

April 28, 2017

cactusflowers1.sm

Cactus Flowers, ©Jill Rosoff 2016

I technically live in a desert, although a friend modified that for me a couple of weeks ago, we actually live in a savanah.  I’m not sure which is more accurate, to be honest, but I do know I’ve grown up with lots of succulents around.  They’re usually not very colorful, a dull, dirty celadon or chromium green. Except at certain times of the year, and this year we’ve had a lot of badly needed rain.  So this piece, while I completed it late last year, is a celebration of the outrageous bloom we’ve been enjoying lately because of the rain, and of one of my favorite in the cactus family, the prickly pear.  Those bright blossoms juxtaposed against those dull greens just sets me going.  I’m sure I’ll be doing more paintings of these. 

For those of you in Southern California, I’ll be showing my watercolors and my Silk Scarves at the Balboa Island Artwalk on Sunday, May 21st.  All day, along the bayfront walk of Balboa Island, Newport Beach, CA.

Leave a Reply

