Blue backgrounds with Poppies, and fun things going on…

May 4, 2011

“Orange Poppies, Blue Swirls” ©Jill Rosoff 2011, 5 1/2 ” x 8 1/2 ”  framed, SOLD

This painting includes a recurring theme for me, the blue background.  The poppies are a recurring theme too.  Right now it’s the background on this one that’s fun for me.  I’ve used blue backgrounds forever, in various ways, most often a rich, multi-layered  (layers of many different colors that meld into the blues) background that’s always been an effective counterpoint to the orange poppies.  Opposites attract.  As I started exploring the intricate patterning more and more, in the back of my mind I wondered whether I was done exploring the blue backgrounds.  But as often ultimately occurs to me, its really a component that I can expand upon even more.  As it should be, really.  And so, voila, a new look at an old faithful friend.

And now!  The fun news!  For those  of you who are on my mailing list, you recently received my announcement about my website. Well, one person on this list is an art business coach who I’ve been reading and following for about 4 years now.  And she wrote, with my (incredibly enthusiastic) permission of course, about the announcement on her blog, Artbizblog, .  To my great thrill, she talked about it in TWO postings on two successive days!  See them at:

www.artbizblog.com/2011/04/click-through.html  and  www.artbizblog.com/2011/04/call-to-action.html

And then to my happy surprise, one of my pieces is featured with five others for the months of May and June on 

www.watercolorpainting.com .  The piece is in the slide show on the home page, then go to Page 2 for the On the Net: Artist Showcase.

Huge thanks to Alyson Stanfield of ArtBizBlog and Stanfield Associates, and Greg Conley of  watercolorpainting.com.

Join my mailing list and receive my announcements for shows and other ‘fun things going on’ by subscribing to it on my website…click on the painting of the Orange Tulips over there in the column on the right, and go to the Contact page.

3 Responses to “Blue backgrounds with Poppies, and fun things going on…”

  1. Jessica Says:

    Hi Jill! I really love your blog, I had no idea it was so well established too! I love how you have the sizes of the watercolours on there too, so I can better picture them. Really great stuff!
    Love
    Jess


  2. […] Blue backgrounds with Poppies, and fun things going on… (jillpaints.wordpress.com) […]


  3. Thanks for allowing me to share your announcement, Jill. It’s always helpful to have real-life examples and artists, of course, appreciate visuals.


Comments are closed.